520 voted in the presidential electionLOUIS ASHWORTH/VARSITY

Lara Brown has beaten Sophie West and David Quan to the Union Presidency for Michaelmas 2022.

Brown picked up 259 votes on the final count, beating West’s 235 by a margin of 24. David Quan was eliminated in the second round of voting.

Elsewhere, Sam Carling beat Aron Thomas to debates officer by 269 votes compared to Thomas’ 185, winning by a margin of 84. Joe Fennell was eliminated in the second round of voting.

Ellie Breeze beat Georgia Fearn to equalities officer by 69 votes, getting 238 votes compared to Fearn’s 169.

Ellenoor Shameli was uncontested for speakers, while Ed Hilditch was unopposed for social events.

This term’s presidential race saw a higher turnout than last’s – with 520 members voting in the presidential election compared to 415 in Michaelmas 2021.