VARSITY

The Varsity Trust

Information for Applicants

2021 - 2022

Contents

About the Trust How to Apply Eligibility Trustees Previous Trust Scholars & Awards

About the Trust

The Varsity Trust is a unique venture, created by a deed dated 1 July 1992, with the principal object of furthering the education of students in journalism by the provision of funds in the form of scholarships, bursaries or grants to students attending Universities in Cambridge.

Varsity provides a unique learning opportunity for those interested in journalism and photojournalism to experience the elements of the trade in a professionally-run environment, with the same pressures of deadlines, accuracy and quality to be met as at any other publication. The Trust seeks to reward those with a passion for journalism by assisting them with their first steps into the professional world.

If suitable candidates present themselves, the Trustees intend to make an award or awards to a student or students about to graduate or recent graduates from either the University of Cambridge or ARU who intend to undertake journalistic training of any sort in 2021/2022.

Trust awards are tailored to individual circumstances, but, normally, are intended to make a significant contribution to the tuition fees for the training concerned. Up to £5,000 is potentially available.

How to Apply

Applications are now being accepted for the Varsity Trust Scholarships for the academic year 2021/2022 for those planning to undertake postgraduate training in journalism.

The deadline for receiving applications is midnight on 23rd April 2021.

To apply, please send as a single PDF file comprising the following:

- 1. A covering letter.
- 2. Your CV.
- 3. The names and contact details of three referees.
- 4. "Cuttings" demonstrating three examples of your work in student journalism (1 cutting per page maximum three sheets of A4 total).
- 5. Details of any other potential sources of funding and income for your intended course. In addition, a detailed breakdown of how you propose to meet the remaining the fees and maintenance costs of the course.
- 6. A personal statement of approximately 250 words on your motives for becoming a journalist.

Applications should be sent to *trust@varsity.co.uk* with "Varsity Trust Application" as the subject.

If you have any queries, or require any further information, please email *trust@varsity.co.uk*

Eligibility

Students may apply before any firm offer of training has been received, but payment of any award will be conditional on the applicant being successful in receiving an offer from their chosen institution *and* after providing confirming documentation that they have actually taken up that place on an approved course of training in journalism.

The Trustees hope to be in a position to make an election or elections in the early part of Cambridge University Easter term.

Submissions will be discussed by the Trustees and shortlisted candidates will be invited to interview.

While experience of student journalism is a pre-requisite, applicants need have no experience writing for *Varsity* or its associated publications.

Applications will be accepted from members of the University of Cambridge and associated institutions - and Anglia Ruskin University.

Trustees

Dr Mike J Franklin: (Chairman)

Quondam Fellow, Hughes Hall, formerly Admissions Tutor, Tutor, Praelector and Director of Studies in History and in Anglo-Saxon, Norse and Celtic, Hughes Hall, Former Fellow of Wolfson College, Chairman of Varsity Publications Ltd.

Prof Peter Robinson:

Professor of Computer Technology at the University of Cambridge Computer Laboratory, Fellow, and Director of Studies in Computer Science, Gonville and Caius College, Director and former Business Manager, Varsity Publications Ltd.

Peter Davies:

Assistant Professor, Department of English Language and Literature, University of Michigan, USA, formerly Assistant Professor of Creative Writing, University of Oregon, USA, former Business Manager, Varsity Publications Ltd.

Dr Raphael Lyne:

Reader in Renaissance Literature in the Faculty of English, Fellow and Director of Studies in English, Murray Edwards College.

Catherine Alexander:

Careers Adviser, Cambridge University Careers Service

Varsity Trust Scholars

1994: S Caplan 1995: H O'Grady 1996: A Carter, K Newton 1997: K Giannone, I Wall 1998: C Watson 1999: P Taneja, E Tofield 2000: Jane Mulkerrins 2001: Charlotte O'Brien 2002: Holden Frith 2003: Willow Burton 2004: Emma Baker 2005: Ellen Jones 2006: Zoe Smeaton, Katy Watson 2007: Mary Bowers 2008: Katherine Faulkner 2009: Katy Lee 2010: Elliot Ross 2011: Lauren York 2012: Alice Hancock 2013: Tom Belger, Charlotte Keith 2014: Alice Udale-Smith 2015: Hazel Shearing 2016: Decca Muldowney 2017: Lauren Brown 2018: Elizabeth Howcroft 2019: No award made 2020: Sarah Collins

Holders of Varsity Trust Bursaries

1994: J Oliver 1995: A Kwatra

1997: V Brignell 1998: S Foley 1999: Emily Tofield 2000: Sarah McMillan 2001: Alex Horne 2002: Alexander Marshall, Elizabeth Willcocks 2003: Emma Charlton, Steve Nowottny 2004: Martin Hemming 2005: Ruth Barnett

2007: Charly Lester 2008: Natalie Woolman 2009: Sarah Rainey 2010: Megan Boot

2016: Alex Davis 2017: Peter Rutzler 2018: Anna Menin

2020: Ellie House

Varsity Annual Prizes

1992: P Prabhakaram; C Scobie; J Price; D McManus; Mark Weatherall 1993: R Grange; J Price; R Barnwell; A Petridis 1994: A E Johnson; B Harford; A Petridis; S Caplan 1995: F Mountford; P Fulis; C Elmes; E Halliwell 1996: O Burkemann; A Burke; C Elmes; I Wall 1997: R Russell; C Cheirakal; A Burke; D Norrish 1998: N Stanton; A Harris; S Michaka; S Laitner 1999: A Horne; S F Said; M Blank; D Rookwood 2000: T Royston; A Smith; A Faludy, T Catchesides 2001: T Catchesides, L Thompson, E Day, S Brealey 2002: S Wright, C Mispratt, D Thorley, R Sharp 2003: I Hollingshead, M Hemming, Tom Ebbutt, V Flower, Matt Orme 2004: Sam Richardson, Andrew Sims, Amol Rajan, E Jones, J Wood 2005: James Dacre, Jess Holland, Adam Edelshain, Ned Beauman 2006: Rachel Divall, Mary Bowers, Jon Swaine, Ifti Qurashi 2007: Joe Gosden, Jonny Ensall, Michael Derringer 2008: Anna Trench, Dylan Spencer-Davidson, Patrick Kingsley, Katy Lee 2009: Emma Hogan, Clementine Dowley 2011: Helen Mackreath, Osama Siddiqui, Charlotte Wu, David Rosenberg, Charlotte Sewell, Hugo Gye